CANYON FUEL COMPANY LLC safety activity
MSHA violations, accident reports and inspections across the current mine portfolio.
Safety activity
Maintenance of belt conveyors and belt conveyor entries.
SUFCO · 420008930 CFR 75.1731(a) · $151.00 proposed penalty
Mechanical equipment guards.
SUFCO · 420008930 CFR 75.1722(a) · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $592.00 proposed penalty
Methane monitors.
SUFCO · 420008930 CFR 75.342(a)(4) · $151.00 proposed penalty
Non-Injury Accident Investigation
SUFCO · 42000896.0 on-site hours reported
Machinery
SUFCO · 4200089Days away from work only
Accident narrative
EE was operating a drill press in the welding bay to drill holes into a bracket, EE secured it in a vice. While standing to the right, EE held the vice with EE's left hand and operated the press with EE's right. The bit bound, causing the bracket to spin out of the vice which caused EE's left thumb to be caught between the vice and bracket.
Mechanical equipment guards.
SUFCO · 420008930 CFR 75.1722(a) · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $1,679.00 proposed penalty
Violation — cited standard not reported
SUFCO · 4200089Short circuit protection; ratings and settings of circuit breakers.
SUFCO · 420008930 CFR 75.601-1 · $151.00 proposed penalty
Short circuit protection; ratings and settings of circuit breakers.
SUFCO · 420008930 CFR 75.601-1 · $151.00 proposed penalty
Mechanical equipment guards.
SUFCO · 420008930 CFR 75.1722(a) · Significant and substantial (S&S)
Mechanical equipment guards.
SUFCO · 420008930 CFR 75.1722(a) · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $755.00 proposed penalty
Identification of circuit breakers and disconnecting switches.
SUFCO · 420008930 CFR 75.809 · $151.00 proposed penalty
Machinery and equipment; operation and maintenance.
SUFCO · 420008930 CFR 75.1725(a) · $151.00 proposed penalty
Non-Injury Accident Investigation
SUFCO · 420008948.8 on-site hours reported
Protection from falls of roof, face and ribs.
SUFCO · 420008930 CFR 75.202(a) · $165.00 proposed penalty
Violation — cited standard not reported
SUFCO · 4200089Verbal Hazard Complaint Inspections
SUFCO · 420008911.8 on-site hours reported
Accumulation of combustible materials.
SUFCO · 420008930 CFR 75.400 · $465.00 proposed penalty
Examination and maintenance of firefighting equipment.
SKYLINE MINE #3 · 420156630 CFR 77.1110 · $151.00 proposed penalty
Regular Safety and Health Inspection
SUFCO · 4200089444.3 on-site hours reported
Regular Safety and Health Inspection
SKYLINE MINE #3 · 420156664.0 on-site hours reported
Handtools (nonpowered)
SUFCO · 4200089Days away from work only
Accident narrative
EE was pulling cable from a spool at the cable winder. A chain meant to keep the spool centered came loose, allowing it to shift and create a gap near the stops. The EE reached for the knuckle and, while pulling it down, placed their hand into the gap, where it became caught in a pinch point.
Verbal Hazard Complaint Inspections
SUFCO · 42000893.5 on-site hours reported
Electric equipment; examination, testing and maintenance.
SUFCO · 420008930 CFR 75.512 · $313.00 proposed penalty
Protection from falls of roof, face and ribs.
SUFCO · 420008930 CFR 75.202(a) · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $3,184.00 proposed penalty
Sources and definitions
MSHA Violations (issue date), Accidents (accident date) and Inspections (begin date).
Violation titles use current CFR headings to identify the cited rule; they are not the inspector’s account of what happened.
Status is from the current MSHA Mines snapshot, not the selected reporting period. Closed records can retain their last reported controller/operator.
Counts describe published rows, including contractor records; accident records are not distinct incidents or numbers of people injured.
Zero means no matching records in the imported sources, not proof of no events. Historical coverage differs by source; absence before a source begins reporting is not a zero incident rate. Invalid or absent dates and records after the snapshot are excluded.
S&S means SIG_SUB=Y. Fatality records use DEGREE_INJURY_CD=01. Proposed penalties are not final assessed or paid amounts; missing dollar values are omitted.
Inspection hours are SUM_TOTAL_ON_SITE_HOURS attributed to the inspection start date, without supervisor/trainee hours. Missing hours are omitted; a started inspection may still be open.
Portfolio totals use current mine membership, including events before the current owner or operator's tenure.