Laurel Fork Mine safety activity
MSHA violations, accident reports and inspections.
Safety activity
Mechanical equipment guards.
30 CFR 75.1722(a) · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $1,126.00 proposed penalty
Accumulation of combustible materials.
30 CFR 75.400 · $642.00 proposed penalty
Installation of high-voltage transmission cables.
30 CFR 75.807 · $504.00 proposed penalty
Accumulation of combustible materials.
30 CFR 75.400 · $288.00 proposed penalty
Permanent splicing of trailing cables.
30 CFR 75.604(b) · $755.00 proposed penalty
Mine ventilation plan; submission and approval.
30 CFR 75.370(a)(1) · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $7,084.00 proposed penalty
Violation — cited standard not reported
$168.00 proposed penalty
Accumulation of combustible materials.
30 CFR 75.400 · $642.00 proposed penalty
Protection from falls of roof, face and ribs.
30 CFR 75.202(a) · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $2,503.00 proposed penalty
Violation — cited standard not reported
Electric equipment; examination, testing and maintenance.
30 CFR 75.512 · $697.00 proposed penalty
Other safeguards.
30 CFR 75.1403 · $193.00 proposed penalty
Drill dust control at underground areas of underground mines.
30 CFR 72.630(b) · $245.00 proposed penalty
Canopies or cabs; self-propelled diesel-powered and electric face equipment; installation requirements.
30 CFR 75.1710-1(a) · $1,679.00 proposed penalty
Preshift examination at fixed intervals.
30 CFR 75.360(f) · $151.00 proposed penalty
Mine ventilation plan; submission and approval.
30 CFR 75.370(a)(1) · $398.00 proposed penalty
Maintenance of incombustible content of rock dust.
30 CFR 75.403 · $1,968.00 proposed penalty
Fall of roof or back
Accident only
Accident narrative
A non-injury roof fall occurred in the #5 entry on the 2nd East Mains at spad #258. The fall was approximately 80 feet long, 20 feet wide and up to 50 inches thick.
Machinery and equipment; operation and maintenance.
30 CFR 75.1725(a) · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $2,312.00 proposed penalty
Mine ventilation plan; submission and approval.
30 CFR 75.370(a)(1) · $883.00 proposed penalty
Spot Inspections
103(i) · 9.5 on-site hours reported
Inspection of fire suppression devices.
30 CFR 75.1107-16(b) · $151.00 proposed penalty
Permissible electric face equipment; maintenance.
30 CFR 75.503 · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $6,540.00 proposed penalty
Handling of materials
Days away from work only
Accident narrative
The employee was lifting a rub rail into position on a continuous mining machine when EE experienced pain in EE's groin area. The employee continued working following the incident and remained at work until being removed from duty by a physician on 6/1/2026.
Accumulation of combustible materials.
30 CFR 75.400 · $2,133.00 proposed penalty
Sources and definitions
MSHA Violations (issue date), Accidents (accident date) and Inspections (begin date).
Violation titles use current CFR headings to identify the cited rule; they are not the inspector’s account of what happened.
Counts describe published rows, including contractor records; accident records are not distinct incidents or numbers of people injured.
Zero means no matching records in the imported sources, not proof of no events. Historical coverage differs by source; absence before a source begins reporting is not a zero incident rate. Invalid or absent dates and records after the snapshot are excluded.
S&S means SIG_SUB=Y. Fatality records use DEGREE_INJURY_CD=01. Proposed penalties are not final assessed or paid amounts; missing dollar values are omitted.
Inspection hours are SUM_TOTAL_ON_SITE_HOURS attributed to the inspection start date, without supervisor/trainee hours. Missing hours are omitted; a started inspection may still be open.
Portfolio totals use current mine membership, including events before the current owner or operator's tenure.