Excel #5 safety activity
MSHA violations, accident reports and inspections.
Safety activity
Striking or bumping
No dys awy frm wrk,no rstr act
Accident narrative
Employee had moved miner from #9 to #6. They had the ropes hooked to the head and pushed the cable into the heading. They went to the head and unhooked the ropes, when they turned around there was a rock sticking off the side of the miner. They struck the rock causing a laceration to the bridge of their nose which required stitches.
Maintenance of incombustible content of rock dust.
30 CFR 75.403 · $288.00 proposed penalty
Maintenance of incombustible content of rock dust.
30 CFR 75.403 · $288.00 proposed penalty
Maintenance of incombustible content of rock dust.
30 CFR 75.403 · $288.00 proposed penalty
Handtools (nonpowered)
Days away from work only
Accident narrative
Employee was helping remove a flight from a miner chain. Employee was over the chain. Another employee was using a hammer to drive the pin out. A piece of metal broke off the pin, went under the safety glasses and embedded in the Employee's eye.
Maintenance of incombustible content of rock dust.
30 CFR 75.403 · $288.00 proposed penalty
Permissible electric face equipment; maintenance.
30 CFR 75.503 · $336.00 proposed penalty
Spot Inspections
103(i) · 5.0 on-site hours reported
Non-Injury Accident Investigation
22.5 on-site hours reported
Protection from falls of roof, face and ribs.
30 CFR 75.202(a) · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $2,503.00 proposed penalty
Violation — cited standard not reported
Fall of roof or back
Accident only
Accident narrative
A non injury roof fall was found during the weekly airway run. It was on the NW parallel, panel P5 in the #4 entry. This was a continuation of an existing fall.
Permissible electric face equipment; maintenance.
30 CFR 75.503 · $504.00 proposed penalty
Permanent splicing of trailing cables.
30 CFR 75.604(b) · $209.00 proposed penalty
Permanent splicing of trailing cables.
30 CFR 75.604(b) · $209.00 proposed penalty
Escapeway maps.
30 CFR 75.1505(b) · $465.00 proposed penalty
Spot Inspections
103(i) · 4.0 on-site hours reported
Short circuit protection; ratings and settings of circuit breakers.
30 CFR 75.601-1 · $313.00 proposed penalty
Permissible electric face equipment; maintenance.
30 CFR 75.503 · $336.00 proposed penalty
Handling of materials
No dys awy frm wrk,no rstr act
Accident narrative
Employee had drill a hole in the roof to install a bolt. The drill steel got stuck, EE was using both hands to pull the steel out of the hole. When the steel came out of the hole, it dislodged a piece of rock that struck the employee on the arm causing a laceration that required stitches.
Permissible electric face equipment; maintenance.
30 CFR 75.503 · $226.00 proposed penalty
Electric equipment; examination, testing and maintenance.
30 CFR 75.512 · $151.00 proposed penalty
Electric equipment; examination, testing and maintenance.
30 CFR 75.512 · $151.00 proposed penalty
Electric equipment; examination, testing and maintenance.
30 CFR 75.512 · $226.00 proposed penalty
Violation — cited standard not reported
$168.00 proposed penalty
Sources and definitions
MSHA Violations (issue date), Accidents (accident date) and Inspections (begin date).
Violation titles use current CFR headings to identify the cited rule; they are not the inspector’s account of what happened.
Counts describe published rows, including contractor records; accident records are not distinct incidents or numbers of people injured.
Zero means no matching records in the imported sources, not proof of no events. Historical coverage differs by source; absence before a source begins reporting is not a zero incident rate. Invalid or absent dates and records after the snapshot are excluded.
S&S means SIG_SUB=Y. Fatality records use DEGREE_INJURY_CD=01. Proposed penalties are not final assessed or paid amounts; missing dollar values are omitted.
Inspection hours are SUM_TOTAL_ON_SITE_HOURS attributed to the inspection start date, without supervisor/trainee hours. Missing hours are omitted; a started inspection may still be open.
Portfolio totals use current mine membership, including events before the current owner or operator's tenure.