The National Lime & Stone Company safety activity
MSHA violations, accident reports and inspections across the current mine portfolio.
Safety activity
Violation — cited standard not reported
CAREY PLANT · 3300127New task training.
CAREY PLANT · 330012730 CFR 46.7(a) · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $407.00 proposed penalty
Safe access.
CAREY PLANT · 330012730 CFR 56.11001 · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $909.00 proposed penalty
Violation — cited standard not reported
CAREY PLANT · 3300127Berms or guardrails.
CAREY PLANT · 330012730 CFR 56.9300(b) · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $465.00 proposed penalty
Electrical conductors.
CAREY PLANT · 330012730 CFR 56.12004 · $151.00 proposed penalty
Safety defects; examination, correction and records.
CAREY PLANT · 330012730 CFR 56.14100(c) · $151.00 proposed penalty
Construction and maintenance of guards.
CAREY PLANT · 330012730 CFR 56.14112(a) · $151.00 proposed penalty
Regular Safety and Health Inspection
CAREY PLANT · 330012754.3 on-site hours reported
Inspection and cover plates.
CAREY PLANT · 330012730 CFR 56.12032 · $151.00 proposed penalty
Impoundment Spot Inspection
Findlay Plant · 33041213.0 on-site hours reported
Impoundment Spot Inspection
CAREY PLANT · 33001273.0 on-site hours reported
Handling of materials
CAREY PLANT · 3300127Days restricted activity only
Accident narrative
Employee was putting bucket pin on a front end loader when it fell out of the pin boss smashing their left pinky finger against the boom arm.
Slip or fall of person
Columbus Region Plant · 3300123Days away from work only
Accident narrative
Employee climbed on C20 counterweight guard to remove ice from bend pulley when EE slipped and fell fracturing right wrist
Regular Safety and Health Inspection
Chesterville Sand & Gravel Plant · 330142913.8 on-site hours reported
Regular Safety and Health Inspection
Newcomerstown · 33044858.0 on-site hours reported
Records of training.
Newcomerstown · 330448530 CFR 46.9(b)(5) · $151.00 proposed penalty
Slip or fall of person
Findlay Plant · 3304121Injuries involvng nonemployees
Accident narrative
A contractor without a contractor ID installing arc flash labels at the mine walked down a slight incline off a small cement pad, lost EE's balance and broke EE's right leg.
Regular Safety and Health Inspection
South Columbus Sand and Gravel Plant · 33047337.5 on-site hours reported
Insulation and fittings for power wires and cables.
South Columbus Sand and Gravel Plant · 330473330 CFR 56.12008 · $151.00 proposed penalty
Electrical conductors.
Columbus Region Plant · 330012330 CFR 56.12004 · $151.00 proposed penalty
Safety belts and lines.
Columbus Region Plant · 330012330 CFR 56.15005 · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $642.00 proposed penalty
Inspection and cover plates.
Columbus Region Plant · 330012330 CFR 56.12032 · $151.00 proposed penalty
Construction and maintenance of guards.
Columbus Region Plant · 330012330 CFR 56.14112(b) · $151.00 proposed penalty
Construction and maintenance of guards.
Columbus Region Plant · 330012330 CFR 56.14112(b) · $151.00 proposed penalty
Sources and definitions
MSHA Violations (issue date), Accidents (accident date) and Inspections (begin date).
Violation titles use current CFR headings to identify the cited rule; they are not the inspector’s account of what happened.
Status is from the current MSHA Mines snapshot, not the selected reporting period. Closed records can retain their last reported controller/operator.
Counts describe published rows, including contractor records; accident records are not distinct incidents or numbers of people injured.
Zero means no matching records in the imported sources, not proof of no events. Historical coverage differs by source; absence before a source begins reporting is not a zero incident rate. Invalid or absent dates and records after the snapshot are excluded.
S&S means SIG_SUB=Y. Fatality records use DEGREE_INJURY_CD=01. Proposed penalties are not final assessed or paid amounts; missing dollar values are omitted.
Inspection hours are SUM_TOTAL_ON_SITE_HOURS attributed to the inspection start date, without supervisor/trainee hours. Missing hours are omitted; a started inspection may still be open.
Portfolio totals use current mine membership, including events before the current owner or operator's tenure.