Lexington Coal Company, LLC safety activity
MSHA violations, accident reports and inspections across the current mine portfolio.
Safety activity
Water, sediment, or slurry impoundments and impounding structures; general.
Talon Loadout · 460317630 CFR 77.216(d) · $504.00 proposed penalty
Fall of face/rib/pillar/side/highwall
Twilight Mtr Surface Mine · 4608645Fatality
Accident narrative
The employee was drilling a test hole in the surface pit floor to see if the rider coal seam was under the seam they were taking. Due to the freezing and thawing of the highwall a large chunk of rock approximately 4'x2'x3' came down striking the enclosed cab of the mobile drill, ripping the cab off and striking the employee.
Fatal Accident Investigation
Twilight Mtr Surface Mine · 460864560.0 on-site hours reported
Highwalls, pits and spoil banks; plans.
Twilight Mtr Surface Mine · 460864530 CFR 77.1000 · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $2,133.00 proposed penalty
Violation — cited standard not reported
Twilight Mtr Surface Mine · 4608645Spot Inspection
Mine No 6 · 46092868.5 on-site hours reported
Highwalls, pits and spoil banks; plans.
Mine No 6 · 460928630 CFR 77.1000 · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $1,866.00 proposed penalty
Violation — cited standard not reported
Mine No 6 · 4609286$168.00 proposed penalty
Hazard training.
Fork Creek Prep Plant · 460875230 CFR 48.31 · $151.00 proposed penalty
Address of record and telephone number.
Fork Creek Prep Plant · 460875230 CFR 41.30 · $151.00 proposed penalty
Loading and haulage equipment; installations.
Fork Creek Prep Plant · 460875230 CFR 77.1605(d) · $165.00 proposed penalty
Independent contractor register.
Fork Creek Prep Plant · 460875230 CFR 45.4(b) · $151.00 proposed penalty
Communications in work areas.
Fork Creek Prep Plant · 460875230 CFR 77.1700 · $151.00 proposed penalty
Dumping facilities.
Twilight Mtr Surface Mine · 460864530 CFR 77.1608(a) · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $7,084.00 proposed penalty
Violation — cited standard not reported
Twilight Mtr Surface Mine · 4608645Impoundment Spot Inspection
Rockcamp Impoundments 1 & 2 · 46022654.0 on-site hours reported
Impoundment Spot Inspection
PREP PLANT · 46079501.5 on-site hours reported
Training of new miners; minimum courses of instruction; hours of instruction.
Fork Creek Prep Plant · 460875230 CFR 48.25(a) · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $2,782.00 proposed penalty
Sources and definitions
MSHA Violations (issue date), Accidents (accident date) and Inspections (begin date).
Violation titles use current CFR headings to identify the cited rule; they are not the inspector’s account of what happened.
Status is from the current MSHA Mines snapshot, not the selected reporting period. Closed records can retain their last reported controller/operator.
Counts describe published rows, including contractor records; accident records are not distinct incidents or numbers of people injured.
Zero means no matching records in the imported sources, not proof of no events. Historical coverage differs by source; absence before a source begins reporting is not a zero incident rate. Invalid or absent dates and records after the snapshot are excluded.
S&S means SIG_SUB=Y. Fatality records use DEGREE_INJURY_CD=01. Proposed penalties are not final assessed or paid amounts; missing dollar values are omitted.
Inspection hours are SUM_TOTAL_ON_SITE_HOURS attributed to the inspection start date, without supervisor/trainee hours. Missing hours are omitted; a started inspection may still be open.
Portfolio totals use current mine membership, including events before the current owner or operator's tenure.