← LEER MINE

LEER MINE safety activity

MSHA violations, accident reports and inspections.

2025-01-01 – 2026-10-31Database snapshot · 2026-10-31

Safety activity

  1. Spot Inspections

    inspectionRecord F024669

    103(i) · 8.0 on-site hours reported

  2. Hazardous conditions and violations of mandatory health or safety standards; posting, correcting, and recording.

    violationRecord 9938376

    30 CFR 75.363(a) · $151.00 proposed penalty

  3. Spot Inspections

    inspectionRecord F024668

    103(i) · 8.0 on-site hours reported

  4. Violation — cited standard not reported

    violationRecord 9188266

    $233.00 proposed penalty

  5. Warning signs; smoking and open flame.

    violationRecord 9188267

    30 CFR 77.1102 · $193.00 proposed penalty

  6. Handling of materials

    accidentRecord 220262020015

    Days away from work only

    Accident narrative

    Employee was walking 3 Right #3 Belt when EE felt a pain in EE's lower back on the left side.

  7. Electrical Technical Investigation

    inspectionRecord F01412A

    20.5 on-site hours reported

  8. Spot Inspections

    inspectionRecord F02677B

    103(i) · 7.5 on-site hours reported

  9. Mine ventilation plan; submission and approval.

    violationRecord 9935312

    30 CFR 75.370(a)(1) · $151.00 proposed penalty

  10. Regular Safety and Health Inspection

    inspectionRecord F024667

    200.3 on-site hours reported

  11. Ventilation Technical Investigation

    inspectionRecord F0152D0

    83.5 on-site hours reported

  12. Spot Inspections

    inspectionRecord F0166B9

    103(i) · 7.3 on-site hours reported

  13. Other safeguards.

    violationRecord 9934414

    30 CFR 75.1403 · $165.00 proposed penalty

  14. Spot Inspections

    inspectionRecord F0166B8

    103(i) · 5.5 on-site hours reported

  15. Inundation

    accidentRecord 220261820017

    Accident only

    Accident narrative

    The mine experienced a disruption in ventilation in the District 8 Ventilation System from water during sealing of District 8.

  16. Spot Inspections

    inspectionRecord F017D7B

    103(i) · 6.0 on-site hours reported

  17. Ventilation controls.

    violationRecord 9256378

    30 CFR 75.333(c)(1) · $193.00 proposed penalty

  18. Accumulation of combustible materials.

    violationRecord 9934413

    30 CFR 75.400 · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $1,679.00 proposed penalty

  19. Violation — cited standard not reported

    violationRecord 9256386
  20. Automatic fire sensors.

    violationRecord 9934412

    30 CFR 75.1103-1(b) · $151.00 proposed penalty

  21. Maintenance of belt conveyors and belt conveyor entries.

    violationRecord 9934411

    30 CFR 75.1731(a) · $245.00 proposed penalty

  22. Spot Inspections

    inspectionRecord F0166B7

    103(i) · 7.5 on-site hours reported

  23. Spot Inspections

    inspectionRecord F0166B6

    103(i) · 5.5 on-site hours reported

  24. Spot Inspections

    inspectionRecord F0166B5

    103(i) · 7.5 on-site hours reported

  25. Methane monitors.

    violationRecord 9934410

    30 CFR 75.342(a)(4) · Significant and substantial (S&S)

Sources and definitions

MSHA Violations (issue date), Accidents (accident date) and Inspections (begin date).

Violation titles use current CFR headings to identify the cited rule; they are not the inspector’s account of what happened.

Counts describe published rows, including contractor records; accident records are not distinct incidents or numbers of people injured.

Zero means no matching records in the imported sources, not proof of no events. Historical coverage differs by source; absence before a source begins reporting is not a zero incident rate. Invalid or absent dates and records after the snapshot are excluded.

S&S means SIG_SUB=Y. Fatality records use DEGREE_INJURY_CD=01. Proposed penalties are not final assessed or paid amounts; missing dollar values are omitted.

Inspection hours are SUM_TOTAL_ON_SITE_HOURS attributed to the inspection start date, without supervisor/trainee hours. Missing hours are omitted; a started inspection may still be open.

Portfolio totals use current mine membership, including events before the current owner or operator's tenure.