Hallador Energy Company safety activity
MSHA violations, accident reports and inspections across the current mine portfolio.
Safety activity
Non-Injury Accident Investigation
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 120239415.8 on-site hours reported
Violation — cited standard not reported
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 1202394Power wires and cables; insulation and protection.
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 120239430 CFR 75.517 · $267.00 proposed penalty
Spot Inspections
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 1202394103(i) · 7.5 on-site hours reported
Spot Inspection
Oaktown Fuels Preparation Plant · 12024629.0 on-site hours reported
Impoundment Spot Inspection
Oaktown Fuels Preparation Plant · 12024623.0 on-site hours reported
Roof control plan.
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 120239430 CFR 75.220(a)(1) · $818.00 proposed penalty
Mine ventilation plan; submission and approval.
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 120239430 CFR 75.370(a)(1) · $151.00 proposed penalty
Other safeguards.
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 120239430 CFR 75.1403 · $592.00 proposed penalty
Spot Inspections
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 1202394103(i) · 7.3 on-site hours reported
Ventilation controls.
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 120239430 CFR 75.333(b)(2) · $177.00 proposed penalty
Ventilation controls.
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 120239430 CFR 75.333(b)(2) · $177.00 proposed penalty
Permissible electric face equipment; maintenance.
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 120239430 CFR 75.503 · $151.00 proposed penalty
Maintenance of incombustible content of rock dust.
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 120239430 CFR 75.403 · $151.00 proposed penalty
Maintenance of incombustible content of rock dust.
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 120239430 CFR 75.403 · $151.00 proposed penalty
Spot Inspections
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 1202394103(i) · 5.8 on-site hours reported
Fall of roof or back
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 1202394Accident only
Accident narrative
on 1/29/2026 an unintentional roof fall occurred on the #35 cross cut entry #5(belt line)of the 2C. The fall is approximately 20 foot in length, 28 foot wide, and 15 foot thick. It is believed that water deteriorated the upper strata making it unstable, causing it to fall.
Non-Injury Accident Investigation
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 120239412.8 on-site hours reported
Violation — cited standard not reported
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 1202394Fire suppression systems for diesel-powered equipment and fuel transportation units.
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 120239430 CFR 75.1911(i) · Significant and substantial (S&S) · $432.00 proposed penalty
Spot Inspections
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 1202394103(i) · 5.3 on-site hours reported
Permissible electric face equipment; maintenance.
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 120239430 CFR 75.503 · $366.00 proposed penalty
Spot Inspections
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 1202394103(i) · 5.5 on-site hours reported
Maintenance and tests of liquefied and nonliquefied compressed gas cylinders; accessories and equipment; requirements.
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 120239430 CFR 75.1106-5(a) · $151.00 proposed penalty
Roof control plan.
Oaktown Fuels Mine No. 1 · 120239430 CFR 75.220(a)(1) · $226.00 proposed penalty
Sources and definitions
MSHA Violations (issue date), Accidents (accident date) and Inspections (begin date).
Violation titles use current CFR headings to identify the cited rule; they are not the inspector’s account of what happened.
Status is from the current MSHA Mines snapshot, not the selected reporting period. Closed records can retain their last reported controller/operator.
Counts describe published rows, including contractor records; accident records are not distinct incidents or numbers of people injured.
Zero means no matching records in the imported sources, not proof of no events. Historical coverage differs by source; absence before a source begins reporting is not a zero incident rate. Invalid or absent dates and records after the snapshot are excluded.
S&S means SIG_SUB=Y. Fatality records use DEGREE_INJURY_CD=01. Proposed penalties are not final assessed or paid amounts; missing dollar values are omitted.
Inspection hours are SUM_TOTAL_ON_SITE_HOURS attributed to the inspection start date, without supervisor/trainee hours. Missing hours are omitted; a started inspection may still be open.
Portfolio totals use current mine membership, including events before the current owner or operator's tenure.